Skip to main content

Woodcock-Johnson IV (WJ IV)

The Woodcock-Johnson IV (WJ IV; Schrank, Mather, & McGrew, 2014a) assessment consists of three distinct, co-normed batteries: the Tests of Cognitive Abilities (WJ IV COG) (Schrank, McGrew, & Mather, 2014b); Tests of Oral Language (WJ IV OL) (Schrank, Mather, & McGrew, 2014b); and Tests of Achievement (WJ IV ACH) (Schrank, Mather, & McGrew, 2014a).


Together, these batteries form a comprehensive system for measuring general intellectual ability (g), specific cognitive abilities, oral language abilities, and academic achievement across a wide range. Normative data are based on a large, nationally representative sample of 7,416 individuals ranging from 2 to 90-plus years. A variety of reports are available to represent the results of the examinee responses, which include the following: age and grade equivalents, raw scores, standard scores, and percentile ranks.

The WJ IV COG includes the following standard battery subscales: oral vocabulary; number series; verbal attention; letter-pattern matching; phonological processing; story recall; visualization; general information; concept formation; and numbers reversed. The WJ IV OL tests include the following: picture vocabulary; oral comprehension; segmentation; rapid picture naming; sentence repetition; understanding directions; sound blending; retrieval fluency; and sound awareness. The WJ IV ACH includes the following standard battery subscales: letter-word identification; applied problems; spelling; passage comprehension; calculation; writing samples; word attack; oral reading; sentence reading fluency; math facts fluency; and sentence writing fluency.


Author (yr) Age Range (yrs) Method of Administration/Format Approx. Time to Administer Subscales
Woodcock-Johnson IV (WJ IV) Schrank, Mather, & McGrew (2014) 2-90+

Individually administered, norm-referenced comprehensive measure of general intellectual ability (g), specific cognitive abilities, oral language abilities, and academic achievement.

Yields raw scores, age- and grade-based standard scores, percentiles, and age/grade equivalents

Web-based scoring.

30-120 min.

Standard subscales:

WJ IV COG (10 )

WJ IV OL (10)

WJ IV ACH (11)

Availability: Riverside Publishing,

Download PDF